Lionel Messi picks up record seventh Ballon d’Or award .


The Ballon d’Or is a work of art by the Mellerio family, which has been producing jewelry for the wealthy for 15 generations. As early as the 16th century, in 1515, this family established a small restoration studio and in 1613 opened the company Mellerio dits Meller. In 1815, Mellerio moved the company to Paris. This family first came into contact with the sport when the organizers of the tennis championship in France commissioned it to produce the Coupe des Mousquetaires. And so since 1956, the Mellerio family has collaborated with France Football, also creating the Ballon d’Or trophy. The Ballon d’Or is not just a trophy because before all the statistics that describe its winner, it remains a unique, special work of art that is all handmade.

For this year, the winner of this trophy has been announced Lionel Messi.

Messi scooped the award ahead of the Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski who was also hotly tipped to pick it up. Lionel Messi has picked up the Ballon d’Or award for a record seventh time.

The Paris Saint-Germain forward added to his 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019 trophies after winning the Copa America for the first time with his country last July.

Messi who moved from Barcelona to the French side this year after winning his first international trophy at the Copa America paid tribute to his rival when he picked up the award from his former Barcelona team-mate Luis Suarez saying he “deserved it” too.

He said: “I would like to mention Robert Lewandowski, it’s been a real honour to compete with you. Everyone knows and we agree that you were the winner last year. I think France Football should award you your 2020 Ballon d’Or, you deserve it and you should have it at home.”

Then he added: “It’s incredible to be here again. Two years ago I thought it was the last time. Winning the Copa America was key,” Messi said at Paris’s Theatre du Chatelet.”

Covid restrictions meant the annual event was cancelled last year but the Argentine international took home the trophy the last time the ceremony was held.

  • Radio SOL